Gluten Free

Coeliac Disease

People with coeliac disease have to follow a lifelong gluten-free diet. Even tiny amounts of gluten can trigger an immune reaction, which damages the gut (small bowel) resulting in digestive problems, nutrient deficiencies and increased risk of anaemia, osteoporosis and other health problems.

Gluten is a type of protein found in the cereals rye, wheat and barley. Many people with coeliac disease are also sensitive to oats. The range of gluten-free products on the market has improved in recent years and staple items are also available on prescription.

Grains to avoid and naturally gluten-free alternatives.

Gluten-Containing Grains  

Gluten-Free Alternatives

Wheat  (flour, pasta, bread, pizza, crackers, cakes, biscuits, many breakfast cereals)

Barley

Rye

Oats (usually contaminated with Gluten)

Couscous

Bulgar Wheat

Spelt

Durum wheat

Pearl barley

Semolina

Triticale

Rice

Potato and potato starch/flour

Corn / Maize

Buckwheat

Quinoa

Millet

Tapioca

Sago

Gram / channa flour

Soya flour

Polenta

Amaranth

Cassava

Arrowroot

Teff

Sorghum

Processed foods can be tricky as gluten-containing cereals are used in many sauces, soups, ready meals and meat products such as sausages. However, all pre-packaged foods in the EU must by law identify allergens (including gluten and wheat) if used as a deliberate ingredient. Unpackaged foods from a deli, butchers or bakery may not have ingredient lists so be careful when buying loose sold items.

If you think you or your child may have coeliac disease you must visit your doctor for a blood test and possibly a small bowel biopsy. DO NOT commence a gluten-free diet before being tested as this will mask the disease and result in a negative diagnosis.

Coeliac UK are a fantastic resource for people with coeliac disease www.coeliacuk.org

Can you name the grain?

Can you name the grain?

You Might Also Like

No Comments

Leave a Reply